Drake - musicpromotoday



Nothing Was The Same


- Music Marketing
- Music PR


United States 🇺🇸



Nothing Was the Same was the third studio album by Canadian award-winning artist Drake.


Drake’s third studio album Nothing Was the Same was released on September 24, 2013, in collaboration with OVO Sound, Aspire Music Group, Young Money Entertainment, Cash Money Records and Republic Records. As its executive producer, Drake elicited guest appearances from industry giants including 2 Chainz, Big Sean, Jay Z, Jhené Aiko and Sampha.

Nothing Was the Same was supported by six successful singles: “Started from the Bottom”; “Hold On, We’re Going Home” featuring Majid Jordan; “All Me” featuring 2 Chainz and Big Sean; “Pound Cake” featuring Jay Z; “The Language”; and “Too Much” featuring Sampha. A seventh, promotional single, “Wu-Tang Forever”, was released prior to the album. Drake performed with Future, Miguel and PartyNextDoor from October through December 2013 on the “Would You Like a Tour?” concert tour.


Multi-collaborative efforts in the music industry always present the chance to engage with multiple audiences by tailoring campaigns to each artist involved. MusicPromoToday saw and seized this opportunity when designing the marketing master plan for Drake’s Nothing Was the Same. The album featured over 16 producers, not including the main producer and artist behind the project, Drizzy himself. MusicPromoToday artfully transformed each recording process into its own media-worthy story, arranging for several exclusive interviews to make these narratives truly come to life. The album and its many parts gained notable coverage everywhere from widely-read Hip Hop and R&B blogs to top-tier music media outlets. These stories were then shared, reshared and retweeted across the globe — a feat that couldn’t have been accomplished with a just singular marketing campaign strategy.

As an added benefit to the marketing plan, MusicPromoToday was able to engage with a variety of audiences on many different topics via social media, which enhanced online engagement about the album. To prolong the hype, MusicPromoToday launched each single from the album separately in strategic increments on YouTube to create ongoing interest.


Upon its release, Nothing Was the Same received overwhelmingly positive reviews from music critics, garnering a score of 79 on Metacritic based on 33 reviews. The album was also a commercial success: it debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200, selling 658,000 copies in its first week and ultimately becoming the seventh best-selling album of 2013 in the United States. Nothing Was the Same also launched within the top two positions in Canada, Denmark, Australia and the United Kingdom.

  • 15,000,000+ YouTube Views
  • Nominated for Best Rap Album at the Grammy Awards
  • Nominated for Album of the Year at Juno Awards
  • Won Rap Recording of the Year at Juno Awards
  • Won Album of the Year at 2014 BET Hip Hop Awards